The Vintage A

Interview by: Jamie JA

The Vintage A is a brand made by a Swedish women named Amanda. Amanda uses old materials and vintage items to make new bags, clothes and jewelry to sell. Her creations gives you a hippie/boho look worthy of rivaling the styles of Pamela des Barres. She sells her beautiful creations and vintage items on her web shop www.thevintage-a.com, where I first discovered them.  Out of curiosity, I did an interview with her to find out what's inspiring her to make such beautiful creations.

 

J: Can you tell me a little about yourself and your brand? How did it start and when?

A: My mother is a textile designer so I've been making clothes and sewing things all my life, she has taught me almost everything! Then I studied fashion/design in school and have been making things now and then and been selling them in stores. It has always felt natural for me that this is what I'm going to do as my life's work. A year ago, it felt like it was time for me to start something more lasting that I could invest in. It is a lot of work and everything takes longer than you think, but it is fun to see how it slowly, step by step, builds up. Something I made myself from scratch!

 

J: What inspires you?

A: I get inspired by seeing new places, to travel is the best there is for inspiration! I also get inspired by music and musicians, old music videos and photos! Then the leather on an old leather jacket or the wear on a pair of old shoes can give a lot of inspiration. I really love working with old materials!

 

J: Why have you chose to work with vintage materials when you make your bags for example? 

A: Because I love old items and things that feels genuine and authentic!  It is also good for the environment to recycle and reuse things that no longer have value and make them valuable again.

 

J: What words would you choose to describe your brand?

A: Handmade, vintage, A new version made authentically of the old!

 

J: What are your dreams and goals for the Vintage A?

A: The dream is of course to be able to live off it. To be able to combine being able to travel and to have a big studio somewhere and be able to employ someone to work with.

 

You may find Amanda's designs here:

Web shop: http://www.thevintage-a.com

Blog: http://nyheter24.se/modette/amandamalm

 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0